top of page

Adventures Abroad!

Recounting my semester in Florence

Nerves!

Considering I'm leaving for Florence tomorrow, this post might end up being a bit more sentimental. It's crazy to think about where I'll be in 48 hours (granted a long, plane filled 48 hours)! Because of all the nerves, I've been trying to reflect on the excitement and concern myself only with the things I can control - for example slowing down and remembering what's helpful for myself and what's not. To be honest that's kind of my mission for the entire semester, to slow down when I'm overwhelmed and remember to treat every second as it is, an opportunity - a beautiful, quite terrifying opportunity.


Specifics

I've been thinking a lot about the logistics of it all the past few days because suddenly this trip seems a lot more realistic than it did one week ago! One thing specifically I've thought about is potential pickpocketing - especially as a photography major. To combat this, I

ended up purchasing mini padlocks that are TSA approved, zip ties, and key chain rings to put on zippers and bags if I ever need to focus on taking photos as opposed to focus on protecting my bag.


I mentioned this last week but I've also been thinking carefully about packing - this has been the biggest challenge of all! This may seem unconventional, but in the end I decided to bring things like shampoos and soaps as well as clothes that will be worn out by December - this way I'll have extra space on the way home and I won't use up the space in my suitcase. I've also been using a ton of Ziploc bags as this saves a ton of space!


What's to come!

With all of that said, I've also been reflecting a lot on the things I'm most excited about for Florence and picturing what's to come my first week. I know that this experience to not only live in Italy but to study in Italy is going to be important for me. There's no other time in my life when I'll go abroad and hear lectures/write essays about Michelangelo while I'm standing right in front of his works - that really is a powerful thing!

Luckily this time abroad won't just be about school and growth educationally, but also personally. I think there's nothing more impactful than another culture and engaging with people who have lived in a completely different environment! I really cannot wait to see what that brings out in me and I'm excited to be challenged because of that.


Saying Goodbye

It's been a hard month of goodbyes to friends as they head back to school and especially strange watching students at Susquehanna start their classes. I know leaving Maine and my family tomorrow won't be easy either because I do love it here, but I'm sure once I'm in Florence I'll realize how much I have to learn there. By my next blog post I'll be in Italy and honestly I can't wait - wish me luck and goodbye Maine!


bottom of page