top of page

Adventures Abroad!

Recounting my semester in Florence

Giving Thanks

Updated: Jun 14, 2021

This past week was Thanksgiving in the states and also my first Thanksgiving away from home, which led to an interesting mix of appreciating my experiences here, missing home, and mostly being grateful for the friends I have here. We didn't have the most exciting Thanksgiving but certainly stayed in the spirit of things in that my roommates and I stayed in our pajamas, ordered a ton of food from the nearby American Diner and watched a movie using my roommate's projector! I thought this would be a nice opportunity to reflect on the things I'm most appreciative of here in Italy (and also what I'm going to miss most in one month)!


What I'm Grateful for

1. Roommates that I absolutely love and are as adventurous as I am

2. Any local who smiles when I attempt to order in Italian

3. A winter where I can leave the house without 7 layers of coats on?!

4. The view of the Duomo outside my window

5. My installation and performance art class (who I've bonded with way more than expected)

6. The actual Duomo

7. Pasta and cheese all of the time

8. Bakeries I can walk to

9. Italian Netflix (it's got a pretty different variety than at home!)

10. Walks to the Ponte Vecchio

11. All of the absolutely beautiful street musicians (easily my favorite part of living here)!

12. Florentine sunsets out my window

13. All of my professors

14. My High Renaissance field trips

15. Waffles at American diners when I miss home

16. Walks with friends while eating gelato

17. Cheap local markets with Italian leather

18. Weekend adventures to nearby Italian cities

19. Having a train station so nearby!

20. Narrow sidewalks and cobblestone roads

21. 'Family dinners' with friends

22. Art school and art people!

23. Translating Italian everywhere I go and trying to understand it

24. Being accustomed to turning corners and seeing works by Michelangelo and Donatello

25. Fresh food at the local market all the time (vegetables in Italy are just without a doubt better)

26. Bonding with people I don't know in places I didn't expect to (i.e. cafes and movie theaters)

27. Italian churches and stain glass everywhere

28. Italian rooftops and the color orange

29. The Duomo again (because I'm really that grateful for it)


And, with all of that said:


30. My beautiful friends and family back home


bottom of page