top of page

Adventures Abroad!

Recounting my semester in Florence

Thinking about what's to come

Updated: Sep 2, 2018


As you can probably tell, in a week and a half I'll be leaving for my semester abroad in Florence, Italy. Quite frankly, I'm nervous, incredibly curious, and, most importantly, I have absolutely no idea what to expect - and a lack of expectations really is important to me! One thing I'm sure of is there's no way I can predict what I'm in for. With that said, I'm certainly making every preparation I can think of to ensure this trip is as exciting as possible. Here are some of my priorities and thoughts:


Classes and Prep!

My classes at SACI (Studio Arts College International) are about as incredible as any art history and photography major could ask for - from Contemporary Art Theory and Criticism to Installation and Performance Art. My High Renaissance class, however, is a clear standout because it requires a three day trip to Rome and Tivoli and day-trips to Bologna, the Medici villa, and other areas surrounding Florence (am I wrong or is that amazing?). All of that is to say, there's a lot to be excited about! These are 10 things I'm doing to prepare:

  1. Reading every course description possible. My favorite buzzwords include: epistemology, color theory, and an exploration of Italian environments

  2. Finally getting my visa - thank god I've finally got my visa

  3. Looking up every photo of Florence I can find (and they're gorgeous)***

4. Re-watching Gladiator at least 3 times in preparation for the colosseum

5. Completing a ton of Quizlets (how to count to 10 in Italian, High Renaissance fun facts, how to order food in Italian, etc....) 6. Packing. And repacking. And repacking. 7. Binge-watching Portlandia and Parks and Recreation whenever I'm stressed 8. Taking photos of everything I might miss (mainly my dogs, see below)

9. Meeting with my neighbor who was born and raised in Italy! She was super helpful with tips about pickpocketing and going to markets

10. On a realer note, preparing for anxiety and culture shock in advance by practicing mindfulness, meditation, and lots of writing

Stranger Things

As I mentioned above, one of the most confusing parts about leaving is having no idea what I'm in for, whether that refers to weather, my roommate and apartment, my classes, or my experience in general! Below are 15 questions I'll (as weird as this feels) be able to answer in one month:

  1. What will my apartment look like? What will my view look like? How will I possibly find food my first few days?

  2. Speaking of which, how good of a cook am I really? I've got a feeling I'll know the answer to this question pretty quickly...

  3. How long will I actually stick to my budget plan?

  4. Is Italian fashion going to be intimidating? On a scale of 1 to 10 how acceptable are blue jeans?

  5. How many times will I be able to spot something I've learned about in my art history courses?

  6. Which phrases are going to be most essential? My top three candidates include: "call the ambulance," "where's the bathroom," and "can I pet your dog?"

  7. In what ways are grocery stores different and do they have any Pop-Tarts in case of emergencies?

  8. How hard will it be to adjust to drying my clothes outside? I'm secretly hoping that's the most difficult part of culture shock (but it probably won't be)

  9. Since Pinocchio is from Florence are there any museums dedicated to him?

  10. How does a photography major possibly avoid pickpocketing? Is it excessive to buy mini 10 padlocks?

But really, most importantly: am I actually going through with this??


Final Thoughts

In all honesty, the fact that I'm leaving soon hasn't fully registered yet. It's crazy knowing I'm leaving Maine looking green and gorgeous and the next time I see it it'll be buried in snow (see below for exciting photos) - our new Australian Shepherd puppy will also be all grown up! With that said I'm really excited about the challenge and know that I have a lot to learn about myself (as a person and photographer).


bottom of page