top of page

Adventures Abroad!

Recounting my semester in Florence

Getting a Study Visa: Dos and Don'ts

Updated: Aug 25, 2018

Getting a visa is a critical part of going abroad and I've certainly heard my fair share of rejection horror stories. While I can only speak for my experience with an Italian visa, I definitely would have done things differently the second time around! Below is what I've learned throughout this process.

Prepare in advance


Online you should find a list of everything required for your visa - be that school transcripts, letters stating you GPA and current enrollment, affidavits of your Insurance plans, passport photos, and so on. As I myself realized, the worst thing you can do is start checking things off last minute. A lot of these requirements involve letters which need to be sent by mail. There are also a lot of details to look over and it's so important that each one is not only completed but as accurate as possible!


Tips on the specifics:


1. Book your appointment months in advance! Starting this process involves looking up the nearest consulate office of the place you are visiting. Usually appointments fill up pretty quickly - although there can be last minute cancellations. Also double check if you need to confirm your appointment a few days before the date - otherwise it could get cancelled!


2. Your visa will likely require you to get passport photos of yourself but make sure your photos are the correct size. It wasn't until the night before my appointment that I realized my photos from Rite Aid were not correct (my visa had specified 1 3/8" X 1 3/4" as opposed to 2" X 2")! I ended up going to a private print shop right beside the Boston Italian consulate (called "Colortek of Boston") to get this completed, so, if necessary, look into local photo/print shops to get your photos.


3. Check all the forms on your consulate's website to make sure they do or do not apply to you. It's also important to check if these forms have to be officially notarized, signed in person at the visa office, or if they can be signed without this.


4. While this isn't something all visa offices are willing to do, it's a good idea to bring a priority mail envelope with stamps so they can send back your visa. This will save you a trip down to the visa office - which, if you're like me and the nearest office is hours away, can save a lot of trouble!


Final Thoughts

While the process can be pretty overwhelming, take it one step at a time and remember to breathe, especially if you're taking your time. It will all work out in the end - take it from me!

bottom of page